Welcome to Wellington Brain and Spine


Reuben Johnson

Reuben graduated from Medicine from Glasgow, Scotland, in 1999.  He has been part of the Wellington Neurosurgical team since 2016.  He trained as an academic neurosurgeon London, Cambridge, Oxford, in the UK,  Melbourne (Australia), and Vicenza (Italy).   He has undertaken laboratory based preclinical neuroscience research at the University of  Toronto (Canada), the University of Cambridge (UK), and also in the Department of Human Anatomy & Genetics in Oxford.  Reuben was awarded his doctorate from the University of Oxford in 2007. He completed a fellowship in endoscopic pituitary surgery with Simon Cudlip in Oxford before moving to New Zealand in 2012 as Senior Lecturer in Neurosurgery at the University of Otago.  Reuben’s subspecialty interests include neuro-onclogy, and endoscopic pituitary surgery, skull base surgery, spinal surgery, head injury and concussion.  Reuben also has a law degree from the University of London and consults on ethical and medicolegal aspects of surgery and medicine.

Andrew Parker

Andrew studied Medicine at the University of London, graduating in 1992. Neurosurgical training took him to The Royal London, Great Ormond Street, Queen Square and Charing Cross Hospitals. He then worked as a Staff Specialist at the John Hunter Hospital

Kelvin KH Woon

Kelvin graduated in Medicine from the Queens University of Belfast, UK in 1999. He completed his neurosurgical training in Nottingham in the UK.

Agadha Wickremesekera

Agadha graduated in Medicine from the University of Otago in 1986. Agadha is a long serving member of the Wellington Neurosurgery team having started here as a house surgeon in 1987. He has been a neurosurgeon at Wellington Hospital since 2000.

Mr Helge Koeck

Helge graduated in medicine from the University of Hamburg in 1996. He developed a special interest in neuro-oncology with research projects in San Diego (USA) and Zurich (Switzerland) and was being awarded Dr.med. (Doctor of medicine, Germany) from the University of Hamburg in 1996.